By TotalHealth Research Desk
If a mushroom coffee package does not list milligrams of caffeine, the label alone cannot tell you how much you are getting. That is the short answer. “Mushroom” in the product name doesn't mean decaffeinated, and a calm-sounding description doesn't mean sleep-friendly. This guide shows what the package can and cannot tell you, then gives you a simple ledger for tracking caffeine from every source in your day.
What a Package Can and Cannot Tell You
The FDA says caffeine added to a packaged food as its own ingredient must appear in the ingredient list. Many packaged foods, drinks, and supplements also state how much caffeine they contain, but the FDA describes that amount as voluntary information. So a missing number doesn't mean zero.
The FDA also notes that when a product contains an ingredient that naturally carries caffeine, such as chocolate, the word “caffeine” will not appear in the ingredient list. The caffeine-containing ingredient itself will be listed. MedlinePlus lists coffee beans, tea leaves, kola nuts, and cacao pods as natural sources. When you read a mushroom coffee label, look for those ingredients, not just the word “caffeine.”
“Decaffeinated” is not the same as caffeine-free either. The FDA says decaf coffee typically contains about 2 to 15 milligrams in an 8-ounce cup.
For products with added caffeine whose amount is not declared on the label, the FDA advises taking extra care the first time you use them.
How Common Drinks Compare, With Cup Sizes
Government sources give ranges, not exact values, and they use different cup sizes. Keep the size attached to every number.
- FDA, per 12 fluid ounces: caffeinated soft drink 23 to 83 mg; green tea 37 mg; black tea 71 mg; regular brewed non-specialty coffee 113 to 247 mg; energy drink 41 to 246 mg.
- MedlinePlus, per 8 ounces unless noted: coffee 95 to 200 mg; tea 14 to 60 mg; energy drink 70 to 100 mg; a 12-ounce can of cola 35 to 45 mg.
The FDA says amounts can vary by product and container size, and suggests asking the manufacturer if you have questions about a product. MedlinePlus says amounts differ widely between drinks. Neither source gives a figure for mushroom coffee, so this article does not offer one.
For most adults, the FDA has cited 400 milligrams a day as an amount not generally associated with negative effects. That is roughly two to three 12-ounce cups of coffee. People differ widely in sensitivity and in how quickly they clear caffeine, so treat 400 mg as a general reference point, not your personal limit.
The Caffeine Ledger
Make one entry for each caffeine source you use in a day. Write it in a notes app or on paper.
- Product and serving. Copy the product name exactly as printed. Note the package's serving size (scoops, grams or packets) and how many you actually use.
- Cup size. Record how many ounces you actually pour, and whether the package assumes a specific amount of water.
- Label caffeine. Write the milligrams per serving, or write “not stated.”
- Where the number came from. Pick one: package label, manufacturer reply (with the date), reference range from a government source, or unknown.
- Add-ons. List extra coffee, tea, espresso, soda, energy drinks, caffeinated supplements, or over-the-counter products that contain caffeine. The FDA notes that bars, gum, supplements and some medicines can have added caffeine.
- Daily count and line total. Multiply by how many you have per day. Write the total as a low-to-high range, and leave unknown entries open instead of guessing a figure.
- Open questions. List each question you sent the manufacturer, the date you sent it, and the date of the reply, or “no reply yet.”
Then add up the known lines and compare them with the 400 mg reference above.
A Worked Example Using Published Ranges
This example uses only the FDA's 12-ounce figures. It is arithmetic, not a measurement of any product. Suppose one day includes a mushroom coffee with no stated caffeine, one 12-ounce regular brewed coffee (113 to 247 mg), and one 12-ounce caffeinated soft drink (23 to 83 mg).
- Known caffeine from the coffee and soft drink: 136 to 330 mg.
- Room left under a 400 mg reference: about 264 mg at the low end and about 70 mg at the high end.
- The mushroom coffee entry stays open. Depending on the manufacturer's answers, it could matter a great deal or very little.
That uncertainty is why you keep the ledger.
Questions to Send the Manufacturer
Ask in writing, and record the date and reply in your ledger.
- How many milligrams of caffeine are in one serving as printed on the package?
- Does that figure change when I prepare it with the amount of water you recommend?
- Which ingredients contribute caffeine (coffee, tea, cacao, guarana, or something else)?
- Was the amount tested, or calculated from ingredients?
- Does it vary between batches?
- If the product is described as low-caffeine or decaffeinated, what is the actual milligram amount?
Until you have a written answer, keep that ledger line marked “unknown.” If you want a cautious placeholder, plan as though it could be as strong as a regular cup of coffee of the same size. That is a planning choice by this desk, not a claim about the product.
Who Should Check With a Professional First
MedlinePlus advises checking with a health care provider about limiting or avoiding caffeine if you are pregnant or breastfeeding, or if you have a sleep disorder, migraines or chronic headaches, anxiety, GERD or ulcers, an irregular heartbeat, or high blood pressure. The same applies if you take certain medicines or supplements, including stimulants, some antibiotics, asthma medicines, and heart medicines. Children and teens should have less caffeine than adults. The FDA also recommends talking with your provider if you are trying to become pregnant.
If your product contains caffeine, MedlinePlus says it reaches its peak level in the blood within about an hour, and its effects can last four to six hours. If sleep is a concern, keep that timing in mind.
The FDA lists signs of too much caffeine, including a faster heart rate, palpitations, trouble sleeping, anxiety, jitters, an upset stomach, nausea, and headache. If you notice these, talk with a health care professional.
If you take prescription medicines, our briefing on mushroom coffee safety and medication interactions covers questions to bring to a pharmacist. It addresses more than caffeine.
What to Do Next
- Read the ingredient list for coffee, tea, cacao, kola or similar ingredients. Don't rely on the word “caffeine” appearing.
- Start your ledger with every caffeine source you already use.
- Send the manufacturer questions and log the reply with its date.
- If a product has undeclared added caffeine, take extra care the first time you try it, as the FDA advises.
- If you want to cut back, do it gradually. The FDA says withdrawal is not considered dangerous but can be unpleasant. MedlinePlus lists headache, drowsiness, irritability, nausea and trouble concentrating, usually passing within a couple of days.
Limits of This Article
This article does not test any product, and it does not state how much caffeine any mushroom coffee contains. The FDA and MedlinePlus figures are general ranges for common drinks. The FDA page was last marked current as of August 28, 2024, and the MedlinePlus page was last updated September 8, 2021. Sources were checked on October 1, 2026. Affiliate disclosure: Links on this page include affiliate links. If you buy through them, we may earn a commission. It does not add to the price you pay.
Sources
- U.S. Food and Drug Administration, Spilling the Beans: How Much Caffeine Is Too Much?
- MedlinePlus, National Library of Medicine, Caffeine
This article is for informational and educational purposes only and does not constitute medical advice. TotalHealth Research Desk is an independent editorial publication and is not affiliated with any Registered Dietitian, the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics, or the prior nutrition coaching practice at this domain. Consult a qualified health care provider about caffeine if you have a health condition, take medications, or are pregnant or nursing.
Read next
- Mushroom Coffee and Breakfast: How to Compare Caffeine, Protein, and Added Sugar in the Same Routine
- RYZE Mushroom Coffee for Weight Loss: Ingredients, Safety & Price
- Shiitake Mushroom Supplement Guide: Research, Safety and Labels
- Pilly Labs Mushroom Gummies Ingredients and Dose: A 250 mg Label Breakdown